A For Good Deals site
Trades & Training Finder

Scholarships, apprenticeships and free or low-cost training, starting in New England and adding states one by one, with a source link and last-checked date on every listing.

Confirm with the provider before you apply. Never pay to apply for a scholarship. Confirm deadlines, eligibility and costs with the school or program.

Home / States / Maine

Maine: scholarships, apprenticeships and free training

Free college, apprenticeship doors, free training and scholarships for Maine residents. 6 listings, each with its source and last-verified date (Oct 17, 2026). Types here: Apprenticeship, Free college, Scholarship.

Confirm eligibility, amounts and dates on the provider's page before you apply. Never pay to apply for a scholarship. Scam check

Search and filter Maine listings in the directory.

Deadline Nov 15, 2026ScholarshipME

Andrew Mitchell Memorial Scholarship (Maine vocational/trade study)

Maine Community Foundation

For Maine residents in vocational or technical school or a community college trade program (mechanics, welding, electrician certification, plumbing and others), with a preference for U.S. veterans. Handled through the Adult Learner Scholarship application.

Who it is for (as stated)
Maine residents; veterans preferred (as stated).
Cost or award (as stated)
Not stated
Deadline or timing
Same application and dates as the MaineCF Adult Learner Scholarship.

Source: https://www.mainecf.org/find-a-scholarship/available-scholarships/for-adult-learners/
Last verified: . Read on the program's own or a government/college page. Confirm with the provider before applying.

Deadline Nov 15, 2026ScholarshipME

Maine Chance Scholarship Fund (adult trades training)

Maine Community Foundation

Renewable support for adult learners in Maine pursuing trade training, certification or licensure (not four-year degrees). Funds may be used for tools, supplies and texts after tuition is paid. Applied for through the Adult Learner Scholarship application.

Who it is for (as stated)
Maine adult learners in trade training (see the Adult Learner Scholarship eligibility).
Cost or award (as stated)
Not stated
Deadline or timing
Same application and dates as the MaineCF Adult Learner Scholarship.

Source: https://www.mainecf.org/find-a-scholarship/available-scholarships/for-adult-learners/
Last verified: . Read on the program's own or a government/college page. Confirm with the provider before applying.

Deadline Nov 15, 2026ScholarshipME

Maine Community Foundation Adult Learner Scholarship

Maine Community Foundation

For nontraditional Maine students: adults over 25, full-time workers, parents, financially independent students, people without a standard diploma, or delayed enrollees (meet one). Short-term credential award (programs under one semester ending in a certificate) has a rolling deadline and most awards of $200 to $1,200; long-term award (one- or two-year certificates or degrees) mostly $1,000 to $2,500 per semester. Several named funds apply through the same application, including trades-focused funds.

Who it is for (as stated)
Maine resident who meets one nontraditional criterion; programs must be accredited by a nationally recognized agency (unless self-directed); FAFSA if eligible. Applications are pre-screened and competitive (as stated).
Cost or award (as stated)
Short-term: most $200-$1,200. Long-term: most $1,000-$2,500 per semester (as stated)
Deadline or timing
Long-term award: deadlines June 15 and November 15 each year (next: Nov 15). Short-term award: rolling; the page (dated Aug 21, 2026) warns decisions may take three-plus weeks and that programs that start before a decision are not funded.

Note: The November date is the next recurring date; the page does not print the year.

Source: https://www.mainecf.org/find-a-scholarship/available-scholarships/for-adult-learners/
Last verified: . Read on the program's own or a government/college page. Confirm with the provider before applying.

Last window closed May 11, 2026ScholarshipME

The River Fund Maine Trade Scholarships (western Maine)

The River Fund Maine

Trade scholarships of up to $10,000 per year for graduating seniors of four western Maine high schools (Telstar, Mountain Valley, Gould Academy, Buckfield). Listed as an example of how local the best-fit awards can be.

Who it is for (as stated)
Graduating seniors from Telstar High School, Mountain Valley High School, Gould Academy or Buckfield Jr.-Sr. High School (as stated).
Cost or award (as stated)
Up to $10,000 per year (as stated)
Deadline or timing
2026 application closed Monday, May 11 (10 PM). Watch for the 2027 window, which opened in April this year.

Source: https://www.riverfundmaine.org/scholarship
Last verified: . Read on the program's own or a government/college page. Confirm with the provider before applying.

Rolling / ongoingApprenticeshipME

Maine Apprenticeship Program (find an apprenticeship)

Maine Department of Labor

Interactive map and searchable table of registered apprenticeships and pre-apprenticeships in Maine. You apply through the employer; openings also appear on Maine JobLink with the Apprenticeship filter. The pre-apprenticeship path is for students and adults age 16 or older and, per the state, can carry up to 1,000 hours of on-the-job experience into a registered apprenticeship.

Who it is for (as stated)
At least 16; committed to classroom and on-the-job learning (as stated).
Cost or award (as stated)
Paid jobs with training (as described)
Deadline or timing
Each employer sets its own dates.

Source: https://www.maine.gov/labor/node/6/
Last verified: . Read on the program's own or a government/college page. Confirm with the provider before applying.

More sources

Rolling / ongoingFree collegeME

Maine Free College Scholarship (community colleges)

Maine Community College System / FAME

Last-dollar scholarship that covers tuition at Maine's seven community colleges for recent high school (or HiSET/GED) graduates. No separate scholarship application: you are considered when you apply to a Maine community college. Short certificate programs in trades such as heating or plumbing count if they are one-year credentials.

Who it is for (as stated)
High school diploma or equivalent from 2024 or later; Maine resident for a full year before admission and while enrolled; degree or one-year credential program; accept federal and state grants first. No income or age limit (as stated).
Cost or award (as stated)
100% of tuition for 2026 graduates and later, after federal and state grants (as stated)
Deadline or timing
Enroll no later than Summer 2027 (2024 graduates), Summer 2028 (2025 graduates), Summer 2029 (2026 graduates), per MCCS.

Source: https://www.mccs.me.edu/free-college/
Last verified: . Read on the program's own or a government/college page. Confirm with the provider before applying.

More sources

Other states: Massachusetts New Hampshire Vermont Connecticut Rhode Island California Florida Georgia Illinois Michigan New Jersey New York North Carolina Pennsylvania Texas Virginia Washington National